Blog’s new look and job woes

Hey guys!  As you can probably tell if you’ve been here before, I changed my blog’s look.  I switched from the Wu Wei theme to the Misty Lake theme, and I think it looks neater.  I don’t have to have a homepage anymore and all my categories can be found over on the right, as well as my recent posts.  Eventually I’ll figure out how to work with pages as well, but I definitely like the way this new theme looks and feels for me and I hope it works for all the readers as well!

In other news, my first month at Full Sail is about to end.  I thought that it was… pretty easy actually.  I’m not sure if its because my high school and first university were technical schools so they were a bit harder… or if Full Sail is just easier?  It could also just be because it was an introductory course.  I worked pretty hard for it and its not like I slacked off or whatever, but still… I haven’t had this easy of a time in a class since I can’t even remember when.  Perhaps its because this class was based off of researching online, and I’m already quite comfortable with it.  So far I’ve gotten 100% on all of my assignments so its very reassuring to me, but since I personally didn’t learn too much from this class I’m also worried about the future classes.  We’ll see how it goes as my next class is Behavioral Science.  That certainly sounds more interesting than Digital Literacy, which was the class I took this first month.  I really can’t wait to get started on the actual game design courses though… but that’s not until at least the fourth month from what I can see.

Lastly, why is it so hard to find a part-time job?  I don’t want a full time job at the moment because I want to be able to have time to really put time into my schoolwork and also to do other things I want to do, such as designing and working on my games.  Also there is the fact that if I did get a full time job, it would likely be in the Computer Engineering field which is something I’m trying to avoid because I didn’t enjoy it too much.  What’s more frustrating is that I’ve applied to probably 16 different places near me now and they say that they’ll get back to me in a few months, or that they don’t need me right now.  And then you head to the store and they have a “Hiring” sign posted up.  *Sadness*  True, I don’t have any experience in retails and sales or waitressing/busboying etc… but if no one is hiring me for that I’ll never get any experience right?  Even more frustrating is that so many of the applications now take so long to fill out because they require you to fill out 100 question surveys before you can submit your application.  *sigh*  Well, time to apply again.  May anyone of you looking for a job have better luck getting one than me!

2 thoughts on “Blog’s new look and job woes

  1. Everyone wants you to have two years experience but no one is willing to let you in the door to get said experience. It’s definitely not a fun search, but it’s gotta end eventually! Those surveys always scare me. I’ve heard your application gets ignored if you answer certain questions certain ways, so I usually end up over analyzing each question and it takes three hours

    • I did the same for my first few also >.< Then I started getting frustrated and just answered with so I just started going with my first choice answer every time. I'm not sure honesty pays in that sense though so I might have lost a few opportunities there. Here's to hoping it ends sooner rather than later!

Leave a comment